Wine, Baklava & a Dive Bar!

Mandatory training kept me from leaving work early and enjoying a warm spring afternoon. When I saw it was only a 45 minute session, I was relieved and as long as I didn’t have any questions I could get on the road and back to the hills.

“Are there any questions?” 

That was my cue to hit the clock and start the weekend.

Just over 10 miles away was my first stop this week, Sunset Hills Vineyards. The gorgeous barn tasting room has only been around a few years and they are starting to produce some nice wines.

                      

 Waiting for my first pour of the day. 

 

Only a few people were out tasting today. I strolled in and was greeted by Janice and the fun began!

The $10 tasting list consisted of 6 wines (Rose´, 2 whites & 3 reds), I was able to get 2 bonus pours. The first bonus was the ’13 Dawn, a sparkling brut-style made with Chamborcin had a light ruby color with a subtly sweet/dry finish. Sunset White, a blend of Traminette and Vidal Blanc, has a floral nose with crisp flavors. 

’12 Merlot was the big red I was looking for. Fruit forward and surprisingly soft tannins. 

’13 Cab. Franc has similar characteristics to the Merlot but I believe it will gain some structure in the next 6 months. 

My final bonus pour was their port-style, Dusk. A high alcohol beverage (17.4% A.B.V.) made with 100% Chamborcin had rich dark cherry notes and would pair well with a mild cigar like an Ashton or Montecristo #4. 

Janice had a great quote regarding my tasting:

“You began your tasting with the Dawn and ended it with the Dusk.”

It was time to head a few miles up the road to Doukenie Winery. As soon as I pulled in and saw the limo I thought to myself…”DAMN!”

Lucky for me the 12 chicks were done tasting and migrating to the patio overlooking the pond to get their drink on.

Eight wines were available for tasting. ’14 Mandolin was a white blend that was refreshing and had notes of citrus. This would be a good deck sipping wine. ’14 Sauvignon Blanc with hints of pineapple and kiwi is still young and should round out in the next few months.

The one red that stood out was the ’12 Vintners Reserve a blend of Cab. Sauv., Merlot, Cab. Franc & Petit Verdot. A fruity nose with leather, cherry flavors on the finish. I could have enjoyed a bottle of this while sitting on the deck.

                  

 It is so good!

 

Of course you can’t leave Doukenie without getting a sample of “Hope’s Baklava” She is 90 years old and still makes her baklava from scratch. So damn good!

A shower of rain came through the area and it made for a messy ride to my last stop of the day, Twin Oak Tavern Winery. Situated on top of the mountain, this winery is located in what use to be an Inn back in the ’20s & ’30s. City folk would take the train from D.C. to Bluemont, then a horse and buggy ride to the Inn. 

            

 Some of the wines available at Twin Oak Tavern Winery.  

 
The wines are made from grapes from different parts of the country. White Nights is a Chardonnay & Riesling blend of grapes from Washington St. Citrus nose with a touch of honey and lime zest.

The Zinfindel uses grapes from Sonoma Valley, soft tannins and slight pepper finish.

A cool winery that has a wine for all and a view to boot. 

By this time, the tasting room was about the close and I inquired about food at the Horseshoe Curve Restaurant just down the road. 

When I heard home cooked meals I figure what the hell!
 

A few of the humorous signs hanging at the Hosreshoe 

 
This place has all the elements of a dive bar. A few good ole boys were enjoying their long-neck bottles and, I bellied up to the bar ordered a PBR. I glanced over the menu and this place is a greasy spoon. I choose a big juicy cheeseburger with their “Famous Fries”. 
When I asked why they were so “famous’, the response was classic.

“After the whole French feud we took the French out of fries.” 

God Bless America!

I would be interested in coming up and listening to some of the local musicians on the weekends. I’m sure the rednecks will be representing!

I encourage you to make a day trip and visit these vineyards and those from my past posts. Next week I’m still up in the air as to what direction I’m going to head in. Maybe south I haven’t decided.

39 down with 61 to go! 

Nothing but fun and debauchery y’all!

Leave a comment