Another Day, Another Vineyard…or 4!

Three days of marathon work were in the books. 

11 hours, 12, hours & 13.5 hour days only means one thing…a four day weekend.

Once I was home Wednesday evening, I didn’t last long. I fell asleep in my chair for a few hours before climbing the stairs and crawling into bed.

The chores were a must before I ventured out to play. Mowing was at the top of the list and I had that finished before 10:30.

I had decided to head back toward Marshall, Va. and finish up with those vineyards before coming back closer to home. 

Since I travel I-66 everyday, I decided to take Rt. 55 to my first stop of the day, Cobbler Mountain Cellars. My first visit and only visit was 3 years ago not long after their grand opening. Siri had me traveling on roads I’ve wondered about and if traffic heading in either direction is bad on Rt. 666, I now have an alternate route.

There were many cars in the parking lot. I strolled up on the deck and when I tried to enter the tasting room…denied!

I double checked to see if they were in fact open for tasting and their website as well as virginiawine.org confirmed their hours. A couple of kids asked what I needed and when I requested a tasting, I was going to have to wait a few minutes. It is peaceful out in the hills and I sure as hell wasn’t going to complain about having to listen to birds and enjoy the sun. 

A new nice view at Cobbler Mountain Cellars.

Once the door was unlocked, the tasting commenced. The young lady behind the counter explained they were bottling today and that’s why the parking lot was crowded.

This sign was on the tasting table. Yes, I laughed!

The ’12 Chardonnay was done in French oak. Pineapple and mineral on the nose, with a hot finish. ’12 Meritage, a floral red with aromatics of cloves & leather. This is a very fruit forward wine with jammy, cherry & pepper intense flavors on the palate. ’12 Petit Verdot, my favorite varietal, soft hints of nutmeg as well as minerals on the nose. A well rounded silky, cedar finish.

I was then given the opportunity to taste their newest project, cider. They only had two available a Dry Hop & a “Kicken” Cinnamon. Both were refreshing and I wanted more but the day was young and there were more vineyards calling my name.

My next stop took me to Leeds Manor Rd., Philip Carter Winery. This use to be the old Stillhouse Winery and I remember going to it back in the day. I have been to P.C.W. on a few occasions but never got served. Too many people not enough help. 
The ’13 Rosewell is a Rose´made from Merlot that had an herbaceous nose and a strawberry flavor coating my palate. ’13 Governor Faquier is an off-dry white made with Vidal Blanc. A citrus nose of pineapple and mango with a refreshing finish. The 2% residual sugar and the acidity help balance this wine. When it comes to desert wines, I’m partial to port-styles than the sweeter ones but the ’13 Sweet Danielle is a Late Havest Vidal Blanc with 5.5% residual sugar and a floral nose of citrus with a sweetness on the front of the wine and finish of balance.

Winding Road Cellars was next on the list and I could have walked to the vineyard. Not even a tenth of a mile away, this winery has only been open a few years. Tish and I stopped here in Dec. ’13 to taste.

The first one on the list, the ’10 Chardonnay. Aromas of pear and kiwi soft in the mouth with flavors of apricots and vanilla linger. ’08 Chambourcin is what Tish and i got on our first visit. Mild tannins with a dark chocolate finish or as the lady pouring put it: “pairs well with everything from Cheerios to ice cream.”
’07 Cab Franc, with this being a late vintage you would think the wine would have in your face tannins. They were extremely soft but this was a wine jammed with bold fruit. This one will age well. A bonus pour was the ’12 Tribute, Cab. Sauv & Cab. Franc, a nose of pepper with cherries and currants on the palate.

I have time and I’m going to head down Hume Rd. to my next stop, Desert Rose Ranch & Winery.

This is my first visit in about 2 years, so I’m interested to see if they have anything new to offer.

A ’41 Hudson, this is how you do a winery tour!

Unhitched Chardonnay is done in stainless steel. 80% Chardonnay with 20% Viognier. Hints of honeysuckle on the nose  and a crisp refreshing lean finish. R.E.D. Chamborcin had a nose of currants and smoke but he finish was the surprise as it was tart on the tongue. Then came what I remembered, Starboard Port-Style. Done with 100% Norton grape dark chocolate on the nose with wonderful legs and bold flavors to boot. Loving this one!

Damn, it’s still early. Should I try for a fifth stop? 

Of course I should!

Chester Gap Vineyards was just up the road on 522. However, since it was Thursday they weren’t open so I had to make a compromise. Made the necessary turn and drove up Browntown Rd. to Glen Manor Vineyards and enjoyed a glass of their Petit Manseng and took a bottle of the ’14 Morales Rose´home for dinner!

A great way to end a good day of wine tasting. 

Friday was spent with Pappy at the Fishersville flea market looking for junk. I did pick up a Willie Mays bat at a good price and introduced Pappy to the Tilted Kilt.

A great crowd for the beer festival!

Saturday was the 20th annual Of Ale & History Beer Festival at Belle Grove Plantation in Middletown, Va. One of my boys picked me up and we sampled some local craft beers and enjoyed cigars on a beautiful spring day. Dinner at the Hotel Strasburg rounded out the night and then it was time for this fat man to crash.

Hectic but fun times!

43 Vineyards Down with 57 to go!

Leave a comment