Head East!

I liked this weeks work schedule, one day in the office – four off!
We took @alonewithcats back to the train station and shipped her off to NYC. Our attempt to watch a Nationals game while in the city was denied thanks to multiple downpours. It’s all good y’all!
After leaving the office on Wednesday, my plans for the week were in motion. Cubs vs. Nationals on Thursday evening and Friday a little vino tasting to the east.

Rain delayed the start of the game which forced us to miss the end of an old fashion ass whoopin’ by the Cubs.

I got a late start to taste wine on Friday due to rolling in at 2 a.m. Luckily, I only had to travel about 50 miles to visit the 3 that were on my list.

Prince Michel Vineyard & Winery was the first stop and what a nice facility. A good crowd had gathered to sample the wines. 

6 wines were poured with a bonus at the end. Viognier, a lively aromatic wine with notes of melon. Fruity with essence of peach on the finish. Merlot-Cab Reserve, a hay loft nose with dark fruits on the palate with a smoky closure. Then came the bonus, Port-Style Dessert Wine. A rich intense wine with notes of chocolate and wild berries and a syrupy sweet finish. I liked it!

 

It did take a while to travel to Old House Vineyards

 
My next stop was about 10 miles away, Old House Vineyards. Gorgeous location as this area is filled with Civil War connections. 8 wines on the list and these were my greatest hits. Chardonnay, yes I said “Chardonnay”, whiffs of butterscotch turn to tangy tart citrus flavors in the back of your mouth with a bright lingering finish. Wicked Bottom, a Chambourcin Reserve, spicy dried herb nose with a smooth elegant balance of earthiness in the mouth that transfers to a peppery finish. Chambourcin Dessert Wine, this is a port-style with a smoky nose and coconut on the palate that finishes to what appears to me as fresh macaroons. This was fortified with a 135 proof brandy made on site. The distillery should be open by Father’s Day. 
Back to the car and it was time head toward the homestead with one last stop. It has been many years since my last visit so, it was long overdue…Gray Ghost Vineyards.

Again, 8 wines were on the list and here are my favorites from this stop: ’13 Reserve Chardonnay, a pear & toasty vanilla nose, with a buttery finish that dissipates on the palate. This was recently given 87 points by Wine Enthusiast. ’14 Gerwurztraminer, bright floral notes of apricot and pineapple, with a touch of sweetness in the front of the mouth that transcends into a crisp finish. ’13 Ranger Reserve, a blend of Cab. Sauv., Malbec, Petit Verdot, Merlot and Cab. Franc, a deep dark mocha nose, a full-bodied red that finishes with sharp tannins. A nice way to end a day of wine tasting.
Actually, I finished my day at a cookout with friends, a classmate was leaving the state for greener pasture in a warmer climate. I only hope he makes it to his location on time. When you’re the man of the hour, you’re not suppose to late by 3 hours! We sat around drinking barley & hops, telling lies and watching a little corn hole action (that sounded dirty!). There was quite a bit of trash talking between the teams as well as a few unpleasant words from one teammate. She had to be called down a few times…yes, I said “She”!

 

Corn hole action.

 
On Saturday, Tish and I met up with Shortie and his wife to see 3 Door Down in Fairfax. This is our third time seeing this band and all have been outdoors. They still sound good after all these years. After the show we heard a little AC/DC being played. We figured they were piping the music into the sound system. Nope! It was Thunderstruck, an AC/DC cover band. THEY WERE AWESOME!
Another busy weekend for the fat man and this brings me closer to my goal.

58 have been visited with 42 on the list and 6 days to go before unemployment begins. This may put a damper on reaching the pinnacle which means I’m going to go on hiatus at some point. But, over the next two weeks I will visit as many as I can and then it will be time to search for a job. Then comes the tedious task of applying, wait, interview and wait again.

But you know it’s all good! These changes are for the better and I’m confident that I will find something more rewarding and beneficial in the long run. 

You can’t keep the fat man down! I’ll come out smelling like a rose in the end! For those who know me are familiar with one of my phrases I’m constantly say: “Everyday IS a Good Day!”

5 thoughts on “Head East!

Leave a comment