Return to the scene…

For my first week of not having to commute to an office, I was able to get a few things accomplished that I have been meaning to do.

By the time Friday rolled around, I had narrowed my trips down to two; Little Washington or Staunton/Harrisonburg. I decided the Little Washington area just because it was gorgeous day and I knew where I wanted to finish my day of wine tasting. Plus, this was my first visit back to the area since my birthday dinner at The Inn at Little Washington.

On my way  through Chester Gap, I called my sister to see if she wanted to have lunch. She didn’t hesitate to say “Yes!”, and I told her I would see her around noon.

Deck View LWW

Great view from the deck at this stop.

I had time and decided to visit my first winery, Little Washington Winery. This boutique winery has an amazing view of Old Rag from it’s deck. Not only do they have their wines, but a few from around the world to pour for you. Now on to the wines;

Meet Virginia, their Viognier, is a refreshing wine for the deck. Aromas of citrus fill the glass with a just a touch of melon. Crisp flavors in your mouth with honeysuckle before giving off a tart finish. I would pair this a salmon plate with roasted vegetables.

PINKPink, a Rose of salmon color, it coats your palate with soft flavors of strawberries and  has a nice citrus finish. A plate of smoked meats & cheese would go well or just a nice evening with friends. This wine can stand alone without a food pairing.

George, the wineries signature red blend of Cab Sauv., Merlot & Cab. Franc. Aromas of minerals, dark chocolate and dried herbs. This rich full-bodied wine gives way to  a wonderful spicy finish. Red meat or Bar-B-Que, this wine would hold up to both dishes.

Artesana, a Tannat from Uruguay, a bold rich wine with aromas of dark chocolate and smoke, bold flavors fill your mouth with intense tannins that round out the finish. Again, this wine could hold up on its own. I’m thinking hearty pork dishes.

A unique stop with an amazing view to go along with a few nice wines.

Lunch was at Tula’s Off Main, a cute little restaurant with a quaint pub. We sat at the bar and chatted for a while. The French Dip with a horseradish cream sauce was wonderful and it came with a side salad with a citrus dressing.

After parting ways, I headed south to visit Gadino Cellars. I had visited within the year, so I knew what was going to be poured.

’14 Vidal Blanc, this dry white is 100% stainless steel fermented. Lemon zest and minerals on the nose and a palate with crisp citrus fruit. A well rounded wine with nice legs that finishes with a touch of vanilla. Pan seared scallops would go well with this wine.

’13 Sunset, this is relaxing deck sipping wine. Made from Traminette, the florals of orange blossoms are intoxicating. Tropical fruits dominate the palate which transcends to a subtle citrus finish. Spicy Asian dishes would be a good balanced meal to compliment the wine.

’13 Moonrise, a dry Rose made from Nebbiolo. A wonderful nose of melon and strawberry that gives balance on the palate. This is your cheese wine. A warm Brie and a baguette would be a good choice.

’12 Cab Franc Riserva, bold rich colored red that has currants and raspberries exhaust from the glass. A full palate of dark cherry and smoke with a spicy finish. A bit much for a pasta dish, but I would opted for a plate of sausage and peppers in a nice rich red gravy.

This is a good stop if your traveling through of staying at the Inn.

Number 3 on the day took me east on 211 to Narmada Winery. It has been 2 years since our last visit and this stop didn’t disappoint.

Dream Reserve, a Traminette/Viognier blended white. Petrachor and lemongrass on the floral end. A very fruit forward crisp flavors with a slight sweet finish.

Melange, a medium bodied Cabernet Sauvignon with a rich ruby color.  Dark red fruit aromas fill the glass with soft smoky flavors that finish with spices. Pizza would go well with this bottle as well as a stogie!

Yash-Vir, this rich dark red is an Awesome wine! Dark chocolate is dominate on the nose with a of oak. Dried herbs fill your mouth and big bold tannins end with a hot spicy finish. This is your meat and potatoes wine or it can shine on its own.

Tannat, a rich bold wine with dark fruit on the nose. Silky on the palate with plums, cherry nuances. Spicy on the finish. Steak! That’s all that needs to said.

Be sure to stop if you’re driving through this area.

As I headed back toward home, I knew of one place I’ve been wanting to visit, Chester Gap Cellars. I enjoy the wines here but the view is an added bonus.

Deck View CGC

One of Virginia’s best views from a vineyard.

Viognier Bouisseau, creamy, buttery nose. Soft melon flavors and honey and white pepper finish. This is wine to sit and eat blue crabs. I know most prefer
beer when eating crabs but this wine is a great alternative.

Merlot, with a touch of Viognier. Raspberry and dark chocolate aromas fill the glass. Nice concentration of black fruits on the palate with soft tannins with a little pepper on the finish. Spicy enchiladas would go well with this wine.

I opted for a glass of Merlot to enjoy on the deck and ended up spending several hours there as I met new friends of wine.

CGC CAB FRANC

My new friends were enjoying the Cabernet Franc.

A total of 4 day and I would add to it on Sunday.

Tish and I were delivering kittens to one of my former coworkers. After the drop off, we headed to a few vineyards. I took her to a few she had never been too and our last stop was Corcoran Vineyards & Cidery.

Even though we had been there in March, I didn’t get to taste wine and this time I was going to make sure I did so.

’11 Seyval Blanc, apricot and lemon grass aromas. This wine was crisp and fruity on the palate with a sweetness on the finish.

’12 Pinot Noir, a medium bodied wine with an earthy funk. Dark fruits on the palate with essences of soft tannins and white pepper.

’11 Tannat, this was a deep burgundy colored wine. Earthy nose with nice fruit on the palate that gave way to a hot spicy finish. My favorite of the day.

It was a good week! I enjoyed my first week of unemployment but I’m ready to return to the work force so I can finance my wine tour.

Barn at Cocoran

The barn at Cocoran Vineyards/Cidery

71 down and 29 to go!

I’m getting close!

Leave a comment