I Get Around!

There was a chill to the morning that required me to scrap frost from my windshield. I stopped for a cup of joe and I turned on some Stone Temple Pilots on to honor the late Scott Weiland for my trip to taste wine.

The only time I saw S.T.P. was in ’10 with Alice in Chains at DC101’s chili cook off. Rumors had it that he walked off of the bus with a cup the size of a Big Gulp full of red wine. So it was only fitting to play a few tunes while the Big K was going to taste some vino.

I traveled down Rt. 17 to get to the most dreaded road in the state I-95. Most of my visits I spend my time on secondary roads to avoid the crazies on the major highways.

I was on a mission and little did I know, my travels would take me further east than I had planned. The earliest vineyard opened at 10:00 a.m. I rolled in at 10:30 to start my tasting at New Kent Winery. It had only been a few years since my first visit and I was looking forward to seeing how well the latest vintage of the Chardonnay tasted.New Kent 2
This vineyard is located in the roundabouts of roundabouts. I think I drove through three of them. Huge tasting facility and an amazing staff waiting to serve their customers.

’12 Chardonnay a golden colored fruit forward wine. Tropical citrus flavors on the nose. Sweet grilled apricots were lively on the palate. A finish of the old school fruit cocktail that I remember at elementary school. This would be any person warm day deck sitting wine. I could have curled up in bed with a bottle.

Meritage, a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon & Petit Verdot. Earthy notes on the nose. A medium bodied red with flavors of dark red fruits. Mild tannins with a subtle sweetness on the finish. This would be a good wine for steak or burgers.

Just down the road was my second stop of the day, Saude´ Creek Vineyards. This vineyard had only been open 4.5 years gorgeous tasting room. A nice crowd has gathered to enjoy some local music and Barbeque. You know what I’m there for!


Vidal Blanc, an off-dry white with floral aromas of grilled peaches. Crips flavors of grapefruit on the palate. with a zesty finish. They call this wine: “Champagne without the bubbles.” and I can see this being poured on New Years Eve at a party.

Merlot, soft, medium bodied red. Currants and leather aromas filled my glass. Roasted coffee flavors on the palate. Soft tannins and raspberries round out the finish.

A nice stop and now it was time to make turn and head to the east toward Irvington.

The drive took 40 minutes and I was pulling into what was White Fences Vineyard but is now The Dog and Oyster Vineyard.


As I drove up the entrance, I see this massive cork screw out in the field. That’s one way to get your attention.

I walked into the tasting room and two young boys were hanging out. I though, “get them trained young!” They rushed off and got someone to come and pour me a tasting or 8.

’14 Pearl, made with at 100% Vidal Blanc. Notes of Kiwi and Petrichor on the bouquet. Fresh peaches with a touch of citrus round out the palate. A subtle oaky finish. A refreshing wine that would pair well with Indian cuisine or spicy Asian dishes.

’13 Shelter Dog Red,made with 100% Chambourcin. Dark Cherry nose. Medium bodied wine with flavors of rose petals on the palate. A nice smoky finish. The young lady described this as: “Pinot Noir meets Malbec.”

The next stop was only 15 minutes away, Good Luck Cellars in Kilmarnock.

Good Luck Cellars
I walked into the tasting room and the smell of fresh baked cookies permeated the room.

They had two tasting options, Whites or Reds for $8 per flight. I choose the Reds and here is what I enjoyed.

’13 Oak Aged Chambourcin, the grapes spent 20 months in French oak. Fruity nose with dark fruits on the palate. Raspberry and spicy notes on the the finish.

’13 Cabernet Sauvignon, again aged for 20 months in French oak. Jammy fruit flavors on the nose. Black cherries and new leather flavors on the palate. A smooth finish with a touch of sweetness. A nice light bodied wine that would go well with baked pasta dishes.

I was informed one of the vineyards in the area had already closed for the winter.

There was only two left for me to visit today and I had just enough time to stop before heading west for home.

Athena Vineyards, owned by a group of retired nurses. Here is what I enjoyed:

Nightingale Chardonnay, a crisp citrus floral nose. Soft flavors of apricots with a refreshing finish.

Merlot, a medium-bodied wine with aromas of green pepper on the nose. Flavors of raspberries and pomegranates on the front of the palate with cherries on the back. A smooth low tannin finish would make this a nice every day wine.

My last stop of the day is one Big D. told me not to miss, Vault Field Vineyards.

Vault Fields
I was met in the tasting room by the vineyard cat. Freddie welcomed me as I waited for my tasting to begin.

Vault Field 1

’10 Vidal Blanc, a fruity wine with an intense pineapple nose. Sweet pear flavors dominate the palate and a medium acid finish with grapefruit flavors. This would go well with a lump crab cake on an Old Bay, cheddar biscuit.

’09 Red, a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Chambourcin. Fresh raspberry flavors on the nose. Sweet cherry flavors on the palate with a supple finish of you guessed it raspberries.

So this trip had me visiting 6 and it brings my total to 159. It’s getting tougher to visit without traveling long distances. But, I”m sure I can get a few more in before the end of the year.

Sunset Vault Fields

The sun sets at Vault Fields on another day of tasting wine.

 

1 thought on “I Get Around!

  1. Pingback: I Get Around! - Cheers Virginia!

Leave a comment