Next To Last Trip…

It was unseasonably warm for this time of year. Last week I was scrapping my windshield, this morning I was wiping sweat from my head. Mother Nature has a sick sense of humor.

I remember when I came down a few weeks ago to the Richmond area, I saw the sign for my first stop today. I just don’t remember which exit it was. Easy with the old jokes folks!

The ride down 95 wasn’t bad and I turned off and traveled through Ladysmith to Sassafras Shade Vineyard.

Tucked back in a wooded area with an inviting front porch, it was a shame I stopped here first.

Ten wines on the tasting list and these were my favorites:

Chardonnay, light golden in color. Supple melon flavors on the nose. Bold honeysuckle flavors on the palate with tart apricots on the finish. This wine and that porch, that’s all I need to say.

Caroline Red, a blend of Cabernet Franc & Chambourcin. Bouquet of rose buds filled my glass. A medium bodied wine with dark red fruit flavors. Soft tannins and a smoky finish.

A nice stop that I will visit again in the future.

Just a few miles away is my next stop, James River Cellars. Located off of Route 1 this vineyard has been making wine since 2001.

 

The tasting room is next to a driving range so park well enough away from stray balls flying over the net. Staff was extra friendly and here is what I enjoyed.

’14 Petit Manseng, notes of grassy and earthiness on the nose. Pear and honey flavors dominate the palate. A gorgeous finish of grapefruit make this a really nice deck/porch sipping wine.

’12 Meritage, a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot. Bold aromas of cinnamon and nutmeg. earthy flavors on the front of the mouth that transcends to a smokiness on the back of the palate. Black raspberry, cherry flavors round out this wine with bold, crunchy tannins. A true steak, burger or venison wine.

My last stop of the day takes me down into the Powhatan area. The wine guides said they were open as did their website. After turning on the secondary road I found the entrance but it looked suspect. I gave them a call to confirm and the older gentleman told me to come on down and taste. Okay!

Bodie Vineyards reminds me of Berryhill Vineyards. Tasting room in the garage and super nice folks. Mr. Bodie came out and I figured this wouldn’t take too long but I ended up sitting and talking with him for and hour or so.

He was pouring two wines.

Michaud Blanc, made with Cayuga grapes. Earthy on the nose. Tropical fruit flavors on the palate. Semi-dry wine had a finish of graphite. A wine that would go well with seafood especially oysters.

Rochelle Rouge, a blend of Buffalo and Cabernet Franc.  A very light bodied wine with plum aromas on the nose. Strawberry and cherries on the palate with a finish of sweet currants. This would be the perfect Thanksgiving wine.

Mr. Bodie told me tales of college and advised me to go see an acupuncturist if I ever have back issues. As we chatted, he would pour another sample of his red.

This was quite entertaining.

With the these 3 marked off, this brings my total to 163 in 2015.

With only one week to go, I want to make the last vineyard to be a memorable one. The reservations are for New Years Eve. This redneck is excited to visit this place yet, I’m sad that my vineyard tour is coming to an end.

But with a new year come new opportunities and hopefully a new job. Maybe I can visit the last few vineyard next year to reach all of the them in less than two year.

To all of my readers, Happy New Year and Cheers!

1 thought on “Next To Last Trip…

  1. Pingback: Next To Last Trip… - Cheers Virginia!

Leave a comment