And, 164 is…

End of The Trail…for 2015.

Throughout this year, I tried to finagle a way to visit this vineyard. I considered making it number 100, 150 but, it never worked out.

Tish and I decided to keep Christmas low-key and only do one big gift together. In the back of my mind, I had an idea and it didn’t take a lot to get her on board.

In early December, I made reservations for New Years Eve to taste wine. Yes, I said reservations to taste wine.

I was surprised they had openings for the time I wanted. When the confirmation email arrived, I was already getting excited about the visit to…RdV Vineyards.

I have toured this winery on two other occasions and it was during the summer months. A tour of the vines in a golf cart, then the facility and wine caves before sitting down to taste Rutger’s two Bordeaux red blends. I said then, that the wines were some of the best in the state. I can only hope for the same outcome on this visit.


We arrived at the vineyard and I was surprised by the crowded parking lot. This tasting wouldn’t be as intimate as my previous two visits. As we walk through the door, we are greeted with complimentary Champagne. I can’t think of a better way to get a tasting started!

As we waited for two more to arrive in our group, we walked around outside enjoying the warm December temperatures. The vines are in a dormant state this time of year. They look almost naked without their leaves or grapes.

RdV Vines 123115
After finishing our Champagne, it was time to tour the winery.

Jarad, would be our guide today. He is a Master Sommelier and had previously worked at CityZen in D.C.

There were about 10 in our group and we began the tour in the tank room.

Me & Jarad
Samples are sent to France over night to analyzed and RdV waits for instructions for the next stage.

And we are moving to the next area…

Jarad and rocks
Tubes of rock are on display to show what kind of terrior the vines are planted on. Most of Virginia have limestone on the property. There are only a few that have Granite and RdV is one of them. The rocky soil is perfect from French varietals and all grapes grown in Virginia I believe.

The barrel room or cave. A narrow walkway lined with barrels of wine on both sides. These wines won’t be made available to the public for a few more years.

RdV Barrel Cave 123115
Keep on cruising…

Full bottles without labels are stored in the next room. As they the wines, they will label just enough to supply their need.

Adjacent to this room is a state of the art bottling system. Not many vineyards in the state have this device simply because of the price tag. A cool million I’m sure.

Our last stop is in the lab where they do their blending of the grapes to create the two wines.

Okay, I’m ready for a tasting!

We go back up into the main room and a table is set up with 3 oz. pours of the two wines that are available with a small plate of cheeses and meats.

RdV Tasting Flight 123115
’12 Lost Mountain, a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Merlot. A magnificent bouquet of currants, rosemary, lavender and graphite on the nose. Soft, medium bodied wine with concentrated flavors of pomegranate, raspberry with a subtle touch of leather on the palate. Perfect tannins with a cherry notes on the finish. This wine will age well over the next few years. The perfect wine to pair with the big robust pasta dishes.

’12 Rendezvous, a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot. Robust dark red fruits with a smoky bacon essence on the nose. Supple flavors of cranberries with some cherry notes and a touch of smoke on the palate. Just the right tannins with a hint of spiciness on the finish make this one of the best wines of the year for me.

I will say this again, this vineyard is still one of the states best.

My final total from 2015 is…164!

Now, I have set the goal for you to match or beat. Don’t be scared, it is doable.

Now, it is time to recap and do a year in review or the best of. This will take a while so give me a little time to go through my notes and compile my final results.

This has been a fun year even though I am still looking for work. But who knows, the next vineyard is right around the corner as well as my next employer. Just remember…

Every Day IS A GOOD DAY!

ME at RdV

Cheers Y’all!

1 thought on “And, 164 is…

  1. Pingback: And, 164 is… - Cheers Virginia!

Leave a comment