Senior Trip

We lobbied for an overnight trip but the teachers thought that a day trip would be our best option. In reality, those poor teachers knew what kind of characters we were and the amount of trouble that would ensue. Kings Dominion promoted a Senior Day and that would be just fine. Schools from all over the DMV would take over the amusement park.
Now this wasn’t an “official” day but my class gave it an official title: Senior Skip Day.

I remember going to the school, parking my car and then waited for Horton to arrive. We hung out at a friends house and enjoyed some of the Sloe Gin he was known for serving when we got together. After a few drinks, we headed into town to see if anyone was going to need some assistance. What we found was complete debauchery. Some underclassmen decided to join a few of my classmates and party with them. I believe a teacher even visited and took some of the ladies back to school only to be shipped home to their partners.

There were a few who couldn’t function and I’m referring to my classmates. Cousin couldn’t even get on the bus. Another walked or stumbled to the back of the bus only to pass out once he sat down. The crew on my bus were feeling righteous and were rowdy the entire 4 hour trip to the park. G.R. was hilarious the entire trip down. He kept begging for Ellsworth to stop and let him use the bathroom. I believe he used an empty bottle to relieve himself and I even want to say that bottle got tossed out the window. Two of my classmates rekindled an on again/off again romance on that ride down and back.. I’ve always wondered…did they ever tell their boy friend and girl friend about their little rendezvous?

I remember lines were long for the roller coasters as well as any ride. A free concert by Molly Hatchet was taking place at 8p.m. A group of us stuck close and we saw some sights. The bathrooms were converted into areas to deal drugs. From pot to cocaine, I hadn’t seen any of that and I worked in a factory with folks who bragged about their drug use.

The coolest sight was watching these two guys shoot basketball and winning stuffed animals left and right. A tall lanky fella and one of the shortest guys I had ever seen. Both were sporting Dunbar High School varsity jackets. The were: Reggie Williams & Mugsy Bogues. I’m sure Reggie Lewis & David Wingate were close by. These guys were a part of the number 1 basketball team in America. It was awesome!

By this time, it was getting late most of my classmates were starting to wind down and it was time to head back to the valley. Our last field trip and it was most enjoyable. For some it was memorable to others it was just a bad hangover.

However, the days were counting down and our final day was closely approaching to an end. 

1 thought on “Senior Trip

  1. Coop, I still sometimes catch myself crying out in my head, “Water! Water! Water makes me piss!” I think GR yelled this ten time before pulling out the empty Dew bottle. And I think you are right, out the window it went.

    Like

Leave a comment