House Party at Anna’s

Joey sent me a message recently to let me know about his plans for this years visit. The 18th seemed to be the day we would take over the Depot Lounge.

The ladies of ’83 had other plans.

Anna suggested we have a party at her place. Okay I’m cool with that but I had to work out some small details about the night. In the meantime, I set up an afternoon meet with Joey & Rich at Virginia’s best winery, Glen Manor Vineyards.

Sabra had sent me a text about attending the event. I informed her that my plans had changed and that I would be making an appearance. She asked about a few classmates that rarely show,so I made an effort to convince them to reconnect with their school family.

Carbaugh hasn’t been back to area to see us in several years. He is a busy man just like the rest but…the ladies love them some Carbaugh. I invited him to join Joey, Rich and the Fat Man at the vineyard but he opted out.

Joey & Rich met me at the vineyard and Kelly gave us the royal treatment. I hadn’t done an official tasting in a few years and this was good to do this. Some of the new information about their new site and what grapes are being planted for the future vintages.

I brought along some eats to enjoy with our wine. I choose a glass of the ’13 Vin Rouge and the boys selected glasses of the ’13 Sauvignon Blanc.

They enjoyed the wine as well as the surroundings. I informed them that if this gathering becomes a yearly event, we  can visit a new vineyard each year. If we do this, we should visit all by the year 2265.

I returned home and loaded a cooler and to get the dessert I was taking to the event. A chocolate tort with chocolate Grenache and Andes candy pieces on top.

As I made the turn into her driveway, I followed one car up the hill. It turned out to be Janet my next door neighbor from Toms Brook. That child hasn’t changed and the majority of the ladies of ’83 haven’t changed…WTF?

My days of being the little fella are well past as I have gained 100lbs since June 3, 1983. The ladies of ’83 have cheated Father Time. I have no hair but that’s because I choose to lather that thing up and shave the gray away.

This was a great gathered. And like I said, Carbaugh made an appearance. Then the surprise happened, Margo walked through the door, this was a shock and no one knew she was going to make the trip from Portland, Oregon. A pleasant surprise!

We told stories and my Lord they drank way too much Wild Turkey that night. For once, I was low key and very, very sober.

As the night grew to a close, we said our good-byes and headed home.
That night I realized something about my family.

My Family 83

Leave a comment