Stallion!

We made our way over to the East Village to visit and have a few drinks at Cooper’s Craft & Kitchen. We were able to get a table at 5:30 for snacks.  I enjoyed a Lager from Kansas City, sorry I failed to make a note of the brewery. I know…Rookie!

coopers
Then it was time to part ways until later in the evening. I had a nice stroll to meet Stallion and the girls were only a few blocks from the theater. I got on my high horse and headed down to Madam X to meet up with my old friend.

Using the GPS on my phone, I rolled up to my destination to discover this place was a basement bar. As I walked in, I first thought it was one of those places…

you know…N.Y. Ballet!

Strip Club folks, Strip Club.

The barmaid was very nice and began to laugh as soon as I spoke.

“You’re not from around here?”

“Yes Mama, I’m from Brooklyn!”

She wasn’t buying it!

I grabbed a brew and began to look at the décor. It was dark, big puffy vinyl seats in the back that just reeked of strip club without the brass pole. Then from the back I heard the voice:

“COOP!”

It was. Stallion! The last time I saw him it was 1997 at Camden Yards. He used to cover the Orioles.

He invited me to join him and a few others on the patio, I like a deck and patio as most of you know!

Me and Stallion
One beer lead to many, many more. He was wondering where I was heading too next. I told them about PDT and the city folk were impressed that this country boy knew so much about NYC’s night life. I mentioned to them that one friend told me to visit McSorley’s and another said not too. Stallion said; “If you’re this close you are going to visit.”

Once again we were walking, Stallion and I rolled into this vintage bar as the others had to grab a train for home. The beer selection was most interesting, dark or light. Which ever you choose, they brought you two mugs for $5.25. I believe we had 4 rounds of those. So much history that if you’re ever up there, you have to visit.

mcsorleys
We settled up with the bartender and went over and met the girls. Stallion and I parted ways and it was so Awesome to see him after all these years. I assured him that I would be back and we would tear NYC up.

Now it was time for some craft cocktails, onward to PDT!

Leave a comment