Virginia Wine meets The Green Fairy

It was early December when I visited District Winery in Washington D.C. and posted an image from their tasting room. A comment had me a bit perplexed about a possible visit. Then I realized it was that time of year and Greg was coming home for the holidays.

He expressed interest in visiting the D.C. winery but I had other plans. To my “Rookie” mistake I had forgotten about the winter hours at most Virginia vineyards and had to make a late adjustment.

Linden Vineyards wasn’t open that Friday so I opted to take Greg to another vineyard not to far away, Arterra Wines.

Arterra

Sandy and Jason are the owners and we were lucky enough to have Jason pour our wines. Here was the list and my notes along with Greg’s humorous feedback.

’16 Dry Riesling

Me: Herbaceous, light and bright with low acids. A touch of sweetness on the palette with a subtle dry finish.

Greg: D.U.I made easy (drink with great care).

’15 Chardonnay

Me: Soft golden colors, a touch of minerality on the front of the mouth with buttery textures to round out the finish.

Greg: Not Cali – But still has the fornication.

’15 Cabernet Franc

Me: Dark red fruit on the nose, black currants and stone fruits on the back of the palette with a touch of white pepper on the finish.

Greg: Relax campfire wine to talk to a bunch of woulda been coulda been.

’15 Petit Verdot

Me: My favorite varietal! Bright concentrated fruit with a hint of leather on the nose. Bold rich fruit flavors with a cigar smoke on the finish. This is the perfect deck/porch sitting wine.

Greg: Official seal of Virginia! Seriously run with this one! Thomas Dolby reading Edgar Allen Poe!

’14 Reserve

Me: A blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Tannat, Petit Verdot and Cabernet Franc. An intense nose with dark fruit flavors. Gorgeous tannins with a bright finish. Another true deck/porch sipping wine.

Greg: The Harold Baines, Coco Crisp and Johnnie Damon All-Star Team wine.

’15 Tannat (bonus pour)

Me: Robust dark fruit essence on the nose. A well rounded mouth flavors of stone fruits – great balance. Bright acid with nice tannins on the finish. Beautiful wine!

Greg: Mystery Wine – Ask Coop! Joan Jett, Rage Against The Machine and Beatles Mash-up.

Blueberry Apple Wine

Me: This wine reminds me of the old field party days drinking fruit wines of my childhood. Bright berry and fruity flavors with a soft acidic finish. Refreshing flavors.

Greg: Not cobbler, Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!

Apple Wine

Me: Refreshing fruit flavors from start to finish.

Greg: What really hit Sir Issac Newton on the head and made him giggle. Strong gravitational pull!

Overall wonderful wines and Greg truly enjoyed them.

Lunch at the Hunters Head Tavern followed. French Dip Sandwiches and craft beer were paired with the meals (Greg, Legends Brown Ale Me, Devils Backbone Black Lager). Then I mentioned that Absinthe was being made a few miles down the road and Greg was on board to visit with the Green Fairy.

French Dip

Off to Mt. Defiance Cidery & Distillery we went.

Cider

To his surprise Virginia is making top notch Absinthe as well, or as he put it:

From the moment I entered this fine establishment I knew… I just knew… on the bar it was there. The fountain of the Green Fairy herself. My inner child of La Belle Époque knew I had a chance for a moment of real Steampunk Van Gogh in the Shenandoah Valley.

Absinthe Tasting

The slow drop of this magical fountain set the stage for the suspense and anticipation to build. Indeed… could this magic potion bring me somewhere near Aix-en-Provence?

With the first sip it was indeed the kiss of the Green Fairy… adding a new bit of surrealism to my expanding Absinthe Adventures.

Absinthe began as an all-purpose patent remedy created by Dr. Pierre Ordinaire, a French doctor living in Couvet, Switzerland… to this day I’m not sure what it really cures, but I can say this glass I found under this magic fountain made me quite happy to have the appropriate disease.

Thus far he has not been disappointed with any of the Virginia watering holes I have introduced to him.

His next visit I’ll try to get Greg to the Godfather of Virginia wine, Jim Law at
Linden Vineyards.

Until next time my friend…Cheers! Prost! Slainte! Cin Cin! And my favorite…Bottoms Up!

 

1 thought on “Virginia Wine meets The Green Fairy

Leave a comment