The Country Boy In Me

I’m a country boy and proud of it. Bourbon, Moonshine swilling, Southern Rock listening and lover of the old school staple beers; Pabst Blue Ribbon, Old German and Schlitz. However I do like the finer things in life. As one of my former coworker said: “You’ve got Champagne taste and redneck ways.”

I don’t smoke the cigars of my grandfather or Pop Daily as I called him. El Producto and Grenadier were his go to. I had the pleasure of smoking some Romeo Julieta’s with him before he went on to the next life and I continue to carry on his tradition today. I miss him Z
and wish I had burned more cigars with him. 

Growing up in the ‘70s, it wasn’t uncommon to steal a taste of beer from Pappy or Uncle Med. Pabst, Schlitz and Carling Black Label were always in their fridge. 

Fast forward to the 2000’s, my proclivity to fine cigars rivals my taste of good bourbon. But drinking the beer of my father, I would have never guessed in a million years I would be a regular drinker of PBR. I love craft beer but when your local store has a limited selection of these craft barley and hops, if you have to pick a regular domestic, you might as well pick one with a Blue Ribbon. 

So today’s deck therapy, we are enjoying 50 degree January temps 
with an ice cold PBR and an:

Alec Bradley The Lineage

Shape: Robusto 
Origin: Honduras 
Wrapper: Honduran
Filler: Honduran, Nicaraguan
Binder: Nicaraguan 

Mild essence of leather, creamy with low acid. The draw is nice and has a great mouth feel. This a good stick to pair with a Pilsner, IPA, or even a Stout. High proof bourbons like McKenna 10 yr., Stagg Jr., Weller Antique 107, Weller Full Proof or any of the Col. E. H. Taylor products would also compliment this cigar. A two light stick but worth the trouble and about a 40-50 burn time. This is one I would share with friends who are not big cigar smokers but want to give it a try. 

So to all my city friends who wish to channel their inner rednecks, grab ya some PBR and go to your local B&M and pick up some of these sticks and enjoy like hell. 

Slainté Mhath Kids!

Leave a comment