Weller, Oh Weller…

…where for art thou, Weller!?

That wonderful brown water goodness from Buffalo Trace Distillery truly alludes us here in Virginia and across the country.

One of my boys kept talking about how good this bourbon is and he refers to it as the poor man’s Pappy. Y’all know, I’m all over some poor man’s booze.

Now the story I was told goes like this, they go into barrel room and selects the 12 yr. Pappy. What doesn’t make the PVW cut becomes Weller 12 yr. Of the Pappy lineup, I prefer the 12 yr. over everything else.

A few years back, Tish went to visit her momma in Ky. I gave her a list of bourbons to look for while she was in Lexington. To my surprise, she was able to find 2 of the 4 on the list: Willet Pot Still and Weller Special Reserve. Pappy & Elmer T Lee were the others and those folks laughed at her when she enquired about them.

Murph, who provided this knowledge, called me and said he had a gift for me. My 35th class reunion was coming up and he wanted me to have a proper bourbon for the event. That’s how I obtained my Weller 12 yr.

My classmates aren’t the typical whiskey sippers…hell no!! These rednecks want to swill straight from the bottle. As I kicked around the idea of sharing this hard to find elixir, deep down I wanted to keep it for my own consumption.

And I did!

A year later, I was given bottle of Weller Special Reserve and Weller Antique 107 from J.D.

Which brings us to Shortie and his connections. He gave me a Special Reserve for my birthday last year and introduced me to some college mates in another state.

He wanted to take a day trip and pick up some brown water that we can’t get in Virginia. So we made the 12 hour round trip and brought back a few bottles of Weller and other obscure items.

Finding the 1.75 L Weller was an added bonus. Now how good is this whiskey? Slap yo momma good! Since you’ve taken the time to visit this page, let’s have a horn of the Special Reserve.

Nice notes of Carmel with a touch of sweetness and malt. I can drink it neat or on the rocks. The Special Reserve is my favorite with the 12 yr. a close second. The Full Proof and Antique 107 round out my list.

This is a MUST HAVE for your shelf!

Until next time Kids, Remember:

Life’s Too Short to Drink Bad Booze and Smoke Bad Cigars!

Cheers Y’all!

Give the Fat Man a follow on Instagram if you will: @crazynvirginia

Leave a comment