Johnnie & Rocky

I’ve been known to enjoy a glass of good scotch from time to time. My early years, I just couldn’t stomach the peaty or smokiness of this drink. Now that I’m old AF, the old palette has evolved.

From Islay to Campbelltown, even the blended options, I’ll give any of them a Hollar. And speaking of blended scotch, my random banter this month to all my 4 readers (I gained one last month) is none other than Johnnie Walker Blue.

The good thing about this bottle is I didn’t pay full freight for it. One of my boys was given the bottle for some work he had done. I told him the value and he sold it to me for $100. As my girl would say: “Snag!”

Johnnie Walker Blue

The mash bill is undisclosed but uses hand-selected rare scotch whiskies, only 1 out of 10,000 casks make the cut. Which is why this is the most sought after Johnnie Walker on the market. Only 3 years maturation is required but the blended juice must meet the 28 year requirement and some as old as 60 years.

Fresh hay smell and earthy notes with a heavy alcohol presence. Honey with a touch of citrus with a smooth vanilla finish. The perfect sipper for a warm day.

I’m trying to procure another bottle for my shelf!

I’m pairing this with the Rocky Patel Special Edition.

This medium-bodied cigar consists of small-batches of tobaccos. Original released at PCA 2022 in Vegas. We were the first in Virginia to get them in stock. This limited edition has found its way back to our shop recently and is selling well. Available in 3 vitolas (Robusto, Toro & Sixty) I chose the Toro.

Wrapper: Habano

Binder: Nicaraguan

Filler: Nicaraguan

Nutmeg and coffee flavors on the first draw. As the smoke swirls on the mid palate baking spices of sugar and cinnamon. The finish has some hints of petrichor.

This is a well balance pairing that would be a nice addition to your regular rotation of deck therapy.

Until next time Kids, Remember:

Life’s Too Short to Drink Bad Booze and Smoke Bad Cigars!

Cheers Y’all!

Give the Fat Man a follow on Instagram if you will: @crazynvirginia

Leave a comment